gregandlisa

Making a House a Home

One of Those Times When the Destination IS More Important Than the Journey May 25, 2011

Filed under: Wedding Insanity!!! — gregandlisa @ 5:06 PM

My first time wedding dress shopping was awful. I was with my mother and future mother-in-law (which was not the awful part!) at a chain bridal store that will remain nameless, and even though I had an appointment, walk-ins took over and it took a long time for me to be able to try on any dresses (which also wasn’t the worst part). When I finally tried on dresses, they were all very short (I’m 5’11”, so it’s to be expected) but it made it hard to imagine what the dress would really look like. None of them were very flattering and I felt huge in all of them (I’m a size 12, so just a little above average, I like to think). They were not willing to compromise or alter any dresses either – which is an issue when strapless is NOT what you are interested in right now. So, needless to say, I left in a pretty bad mood.

Things got better though! Greg and I went dress shopping together (gasp!) and it was amazing! We took a chance and just walked in, and we were lucky enough for someone to be available who was nice and patient – it was just like “Say Yes to the Dress”! I found my dream dress – flattering, form-fitting, satin, just the right amount of “crystal” embellishments…*sigh*. The price however, was not within my reach (*tear*)! Below is the first dress I felt like a bride in 🙂

The original "dream dress"

The original "dream dress"

So, the dress search continued….to Wisconsin! Where I found a ton of dresses that I love for a lot cheaper than the big ole city of St. Louis 🙂 On a Monday night, my mom and I went to this adorable boutique that offered to stay open late just for us – it was amazing to have the entire shop to ourselves! My mom tried on a bunch of dresses, I tried on a bunch of dresses…it was magical! Three (very different!) dresses were the favorites of the evening:

This lace one was nothing like I imagined, but it looked amazing on me! The ribbon was a white color though, and I liked that a lot better than the colored ribbon.

The next one was everything that I thought I wanted:

And this last one I tried on just to have fun, because it was so different from anything else I had tried. It was so glamorous! I didn’t want to take it off!

None of them, however, made me feel like that first dress though (*sigh*), so I left empty-handed to continue shopping the next day with my aunt and godmother, my cousin and matron of honor, and my mom. This was another great experience, and they allowed us to take over the shop for more than 3 hours! I found about 5 dresses that were top contenders, and when I tried them on a second time was able to narrow it down to two – one had the V-neck with straps that I wanted, and the other had the satin with the fit-and-flare style that I loved. What was a girl to do?!

Thankfully, the owner overhead me, and suggested checking with the designer about creating a custom neckline on the satin fit-and-flare dress! I anxiously awaited news and on the third day was told that it was completely doable!!! I went in and tried on the dress again and put money down to have it ordered!!! Below is the front and back of the original dress. My color choice was creme, between ivory and gold 🙂

Imagine a V-neck and V-back with approximately 1-inch straps 🙂

So, the path to finding a dress was a roller coaster, but every dress helped to shape what I wanted and what I didn’t – and I didn’t settle for something that was just ok – once I knew what I wanted, I wasn’t going to stop until I got it, and now that I found it, I couldn’t be happier! I can’t wait to see it in four months!

 

2 Responses to “One of Those Times When the Destination IS More Important Than the Journey”

  1. Katie Stringer Says:

    Beautiful dress, Lisa! You’re going to be a beautiful bride! So happy for you!!!!

  2. Robyn Konyn Says:

    I’m so glad you found the dress of your dreams! The V-Neck and V-Back will be perfect 🙂 I really like the flow of the dress and the buttons! Mis you! Hugs


Leave a Reply

